P.S I Love you

Death has always been a hard idea for me to grasp. The reality of the infinity of it is nearly impossible for some to understand; so in turn, our community turns to several sources to understand the idea better one mainly being mass media.

Usually, we naturally watch movies for entertainment. But what we don’t always see in these films/shows is that they create a fiction idea of what death really is. We are creating a reality of death through the eyes of directors and producers. Movies, where death is the main focus of the plot, such as ‘P.S. I Love You’, are perfect examples of how death is portrayed through the eyes of movie crews. In P.S. I Love You, the husband of a newlywed couple finds out that he has a terminal illness. After going through the motions of his death, the widowed young women finds herself depressed and unmotivated until she begins receiving letters and hints from her “dead” husband. The letters direct the women to go live her life, be happy, and even gives her every detailed instruction on how to do so, including plane tickets. While going along with this absurd new routine, the wife began to grow and do exactly the things she wanted to in her life. She did this all without her husband physically present but in her mind he was spiritually, through these letters.

Culturally, some scenes showed how the Irish deal with death being that the husband with a loving Irish man. While mourning his death at his funeral, the family took shots after each said their goodbyes and shared their experiences, the funeral then turned into a party with everyone celebrating his life. This showed me that in their culture, death is more of a celebration of life rather than something to be sad about. I think as Americans, we deny death more than we should as it is inevitable.

Despite the emotion and humor throughout the movie, when analyzing it, the film seemed to precisely show a literal meaning of death or the idea that although that person is not physically here with us, they are in spirit. As a literal meaning, I think the movie portrayed death as something that physically ends our time on earth, but spiritually we don’t truly dying in others minds or hearts. Personally, I am figuring out a way to deal with the physical loss of my grandmother, but I don’t feel like, spiritually, I will ever lose her. The movie helped me realized that instead of morning my Grandmother’s physical loss, I should be living as she wanted me to and achieving the things she expects me to as she is still alive in my heart.

American’s have a different view on death to some extent, than the Irish family did in this movie. The family seemed to accept the fact that the husband was going to die, instead of keeping him on countless machines and life support. Here in America, we seem to avoid the fact that death is natural and inevitable so we try everything in our power to stop the course of death. This proves how America in a death denying culture.Image

4 thoughts on “P.S I Love you

  1. Very well put and good selection of a movie that shows how a loved one who is no longer here in the physical presence still wishes for his wife to movie on with her life and not focus on him being gone from the present world, but to keep him in her heart. I will also agree that Americans do deny death rather then celebrating the life of the pasted loved one. I see so much of this in my career with patients straight telling me they wish to just die and live through pain any more. That they lived a long good life only to have the family go against the patients wishes. We need to not dwell on the lose, but the cherish the memories we had with them.

  2. There are very few cultures that openly rejoice and celebrate the death of a loved one. My Hindi culture requires us to cremate the body and blow the ashes at the deceased person’s favorite spot, or allow it to float in the river in an urn. All this to release the soul and allow it to have the freedom to be with us spiritually, or as they say when the wind blows.
    I really appreciate the way you put together your whole post. I’ve lost my grandmother too, and I know she’s always watching over me. This movie is a really excellent movie, more movies like this need to put out for the public, especially in a death-denying culture like the US, to teach people to positively part with the loss of a loved ones and also reinforce the idea that if a birth of a baby can be celebrated, so can the loss of a person who’s lived to their name, be it for a few years or many – to be celebrated too.

  3. I loved this movie and you did a very good job on explaining it! I agree with you when you say that his life was celebrating instead of mourned over. In the movie, his wife, an American, is the one who mourns. This shows how America deals with death. This movie did not show that America was a “death denying” culture because it straight up showed that he died. There was no sugar coating it. But the fact that he set it up to where his wife would get a letter and an adventure every month, did show the fact that he was still present in her heart and spirit. It helped her move on, but in reality, most people are not going to get to have that. Most people are only going to have memories, and that’s all, when their loved one dies. In reality, love letters from your recently passed loved ones does not happen. That was the only unrealistic part of the movie, but it was still a great movie overall!

  4. Great work, I really love this movie just for the simple fact that I believe that this is what it should be like after we die. We don’t like to think of the world and the people we love living without us, just the thought of the pain that they must go through is unbearable, for me at least. I do have death anxiety, but not for my own death but how I will ever deal with death or how my loved ones will deal with my death. I feel as if we should all have unwritten letters to help us/ help others move on with their lives after the loss of a loved one.

Leave a Reply

