Blog 2: “Letting Go”

Image 

This story was extremely compelling, right from the beginning I was hooked. I feel like Sara’s story isn’t too rare, unfortunately many “healthy” people get cancer when they least expect it. What really got me thinking about this story was healthcare. The cost for the terminally is really outrageous, when the article mentioned that 5% of Medicare goes to people in the final year of their life, especially in the last months I was left pretty speechless. I just feel as if companies hike up prices because they know that loved ones will go to the greatest extent just to prolong the life of the patients; it’s quite cynical. Following that paragraph in the story, the author brought up a good point, the patients are “prepared” to die, they know that they are facing reality, however it’s the family and even the doctors who are unprepared. It makes me question, is this really what the patient wants? Do they want to keep suffering on machines when they already know the future ahead of them?

    When it comes to hospice, I get this eerie feeling. The thing that really gets me is that people walk in but, they don’t walk out. I do like that patients get a piece of mind and medication if they are in pain. As for Sara, I just can’t help but feel over emotional for her. This brand new mother is just going through a world wind of heartbreak, how does one cope with all of this? Every time she opened a new door to medicine it slammed right back in her face. I really enjoyed how Sara was still optimistic, she was still fighting up until her last breath. I really hope that Sara’s death was somewhat peaceful for her. I think it the mother had the right mindset when she told the nurses to stop doing things to Sara.

    Coming back to the question: What should medicine do when it cannot save your life, I think for anyone that’s extremely tough especially with all the circumstances and obstacles people have to go through. Medicine can easily prolong a life, it can give family members a more optimistic outlook on their loved one condition, as well as the patients outlook. However, I feel as if medicine is a double edged sword. It may be easy to prolong someone’s life with medicine, but it can also kill the person just as easily. Chemotherapy is extremely harsh on a human’s body, it completely depletes the immune system. When medicine cannot save a life, it should be more of a support system to a patient.  

One thought on “Blog 2: “Letting Go”

  1. Great post and choice of picture. I definitely agree with you in that the cost of healthcare and how prices may or may not be altered due to somebodies death is just mind-blowing, but I think you know just as much as I do that in this world everything revolves around money and there are professions where people gain money by the dead and/or by the living. When I first hear the word “hospice” I too get this eerie feeling but I just think that a lot of that has to do with somebody dying because don’t we sometimes get that same feeling when we think about somebody waiting to die in their death bed. I also believe that in the end medicine should be a support mechanism when it cannot save lives.

Leave a Reply

