Eminence

Eminence

For most people knowing whether or not they have an option to choose to live longer is fairly an easy question to answer without thinking. I believe that it is also fair to say that as long as technology increases so will the life to which people can live will increase as well, but to which degree of quality of life are we going to be subjected to is the harder question to answer.

Medicine was initially created to rid the patient of his or her problems, but today we can indisputably say that medicine is more often used today to delay the patients’ problems and not to cure them.

What should medicine do when it cannot save your life? This question is a much easier question to answer when I am not confronted with one of those situations myself. Initially, I believe medicine should only be applied in situations where a patient has qualified for hospice in that their disease is irreversible. In other words, I believe medicine should be used not to prolong a terminally ill patient, but to ease the pain that a terminally ill patient is going through until that patient is deceased, would be appropriate. Within myself there is still doubt that I too would prefer my loved one or myself to only use medicine to ease the pain and not to prolong the illness. I feel that there is no true determination on which route an individual might take until he or she is in that situation. New technology is definitely enticing to health and medication, but I hope that I would think clearly in situations like those which were presented in the story in the sense that I don’t lose grip on what is more important to me, which would be the quality of life. Before people die they never talk about how much there going to miss materialistic items, but what they do talk about is how they’re going to miss the quality in the relationships that they established. When drugs only prolong the illness then we tend to place burdens on our loved ones as they watch us slowly suffer until we lose grips of our cognition. Relationships with loved ones change as a patient continues to progress in their use of medication in attempts to prolong their quality of life, obviously not in how somebody loves one another but more so in how a patient can continue to show their love and happiness back.

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” – Abraham Lincoln

4 thoughts on “Eminence

  1. I really like that you said answering this specific question is easy for you right now because you are not being presented with the actual life event happening. Whereas most people will just give you their answer and say no matter what that is how they would feel. We can have one opinion, especially on how medicine should be used, then when it comes to our own family our minds can completely change. It is mature that you are able to identify this in yourself. I know for a fact in my blog I said things just like you did, “medicine should no prolong the terminally ill, should be used for comfort when it doesn’t work” but the simple fact is, if my mother or grandmother or anyone close to me had a terminal illness I would not want anyone to give up and I would fight until the very last day to get them to take the best treatment to help them no matter what.

    • Thank you, Its only practical and mature fo anybody to be sensative about topics which they never experienced because until somebody is faced with the situation there is no telling how he/she will react!

  2. Sanciro, first off I wanna say I really like the image and the quote you included in your blog post. I agree with your statement in that medicine should be used to alleviate the pain of the terminally ill rather than prolong the life of the patient and the illness as well. Not only would this suggestion help the terminally ill cope with his/her physical, emotional, and mental pain, but it would also help with the financial aspect of terminal illness. Healthcare is very expensive, even more expensive when it pertains to caring for those with life threatening diseases. It can be such a financial burden on the patient and their loved ones. Again rather than extending these problems, focus on accepting, alleviating, and coping with the factors associated with the disease than the devastating disease itself.

Leave a Reply

