Blog 2: Letting Go

When I think of medicine, I think of something that I use that can fix something that is wrong with my body. Alot of the times, I don’t even know what the problem is; I just take an aspirin or ibuprofen, or maybe some cold medicine and antibiotics and call it a day. Whatever I was feeling usually goes away. But what if the medicine I was taking didn’t make my symptoms go away? What if the medicine that my doctor prescribed me didn’t make my symptoms go away? What if all treatments failed to save me from a terminal illness? When medicine can not save my life, I would hope that it will at least ease my pain so I can spend the rest of my days with my family. When medicine fails as a preventative treatment, as a management treatment, and as a life saving treatment, I think it should be used as a relaxant for the patient to ease any pain.

I think that the article touched on an important point: The doctor wants to save your life, you want to see your kids grow up, your family wants to continue to see you around, but at what cost? When is enough, enough? I wouldn’t want to be like the eighty year old woman in the story (who watched her husband die with a feeding tube and a tracheotomy at a hospital) that came to the end of her life at a hospital with unwanted tubes coming in and out of her body and doped up on meds. I DO NOT want that for myself. I will do whatever it takes to save my life while I can, but I will not put my body under excessive stress to do so. I want to enjoy my last days. Even if I’m bed ridden, I’ll still be able to catch up on my favorite TV shows. Anything would be better than lying in the hospital waiting for death.

 

I saved these pictures on my tumblr awhile back mainly because I’m a sap for love stories. However, now that I see deeper into the story I see a woman who tried to save her own life but refused to live unhappily. She was supported and surrounding by those she cared for most and who cared for her as well. God forbid that I develop a terminal illness, but if I did I hope my story is as beautiful as hers. 

7 thoughts on “Blog 2: Letting Go

  1. I do the same things as you and I’m sure many others as well. When I have back pain, headache, slight symptoms of a cold or something along those lines I will take some ibuprofen hoping that I will feel better in an hour or so when it has fully kicked in. These generic medicines we can get to help with minor aches and pains can be helpful most of the time so why can’t there be medicines to help with the pain of a cancer patient so they can still live every day how they want to and enjoy it? I liked those pictures you posted as well. They depict a wonderful story of just one woman and her journey through cancer. Me neither! I wouldn’t want to be in terrible pain that doesn’t let me do things I want to do. And if I ever am in that type of pain (hopefully I never will be) I want medicines that will let me be me. Medicines that ease the pain so I can travel around the world, be outside every day, go to the beach with my mom, spend late nights with my friends doing wild things that give memories. That’s what life is about; doing things that give you and others around you memories to remember forever.

  2. I feel as though you took the words out of my mouth. I do not want to spend my last days in a hospital. As I am now, I hate going to the hospital. To me I associate death and negative things with it. So why on earth would I want that environment as my last. The pictures from your tumblr show her still living her life. She spends days drinking on the beach and taking “selfies” with her significant other. It is the little things in life that make it enjoyable. I do not think these little things are as easily experienced than at home. If medicine cannot cure me, I would appreciate it for solely for providing me comfort in my own body to do my favorite things, like catching up on my tv shows like you mentioned.

  3. I completely agree with your stance 100%. I think the same things when I take medicine. I don’t know exactly what is going on inside of my body, all I know is that the medicine makes it better. Then getting to your stance on what it should do when it can’t save I think that is the right mindset that everyone should have; That is allows you to enjoy your last few days, rather than having to be tied up to a bunch of machines in a hospital. I’d rather live my life to the fullest for the little time I have left and enjoy life. Lastly, I really liked those pictures you posted. They really exemplified your position to live your life to the fullest at the end rather than give up and just lay in a hospital bed.

  4. The pictures that you posted tell such a sad, but beautiful story. I agree with you about not wanting to struggle through the rest of my life after finding out that I have a terminal illness. If drugs can’t save my life just give me something for the pain and make me comfortable so that I can enjoy the time that I do have left with family and friends and everyone who loves me. If I ever find out that I only have a certain amount of time left, I want to travel. I want to go overseas somewhere and explore another culture; multiple cultures if possible. I want to try to see and experience as much as I can in the time that I have left. I think that that is what’s important when time is running out. It’s a shame though because I wish I could do that with my whole life and not just the “time I have left” if I’m going to die soon and I know it. I could die tomorrow. I don’t know it’s coming and I can’t go out of the country tonight. Maybe I should re-evaluate my life. Thanks for getting me thinking!

  5. These pictures really do touch the heart. I see how you thought about the pictures before this class. They are cute and sweet and evoke emotions. After taking this class they do mean more than before. This series of pictures really makes you think of the process and emotion that death brings.
    You do start to think about the toll that medicine brings and the hospitals take on a persons body and have to decide if it is worth it. But after you look at pictures and stories like this you feel like anything is worth that relationship.

  6. I love the way you talked about your own opinion as well as tying it to the topic of the blog! I have to say I’m just like you when it comes to medicine! Whenever I’m sick, I usually take antibiotics and usually the pain goes away but I never thought about the fact what if the medicine didn’t work. Your comment on that part really made me think and wonder what would happen if the medicine didn’t work. That would literally put me in Sara’s shoes then. I also agree with you on the fact of wanting to live your last days rather than waiting for death to happen. I know I would not like to be in pain and have to go through all those medications when in the end you know your time to go has come. I’d rather live my last days living the fullest way in the best way I can if I was ever sick!

  7. This is a pretty cool post. Instead of letting things happen to you, be the one to take ownership. Making the best out of your situation is the best life principle there is. In contrast with the other patients from the article, Jennifer, from the photos, seemed like she wasn’t suffering. What a great trooper. The pictures just reminds me that with or without medicine and with or without real problems, we should always make the best out of our time. We are all dying right now. So, why don’t we make it look cool awhile we’re still able to run, jump, and skip around?

Leave a Reply

