Blog 3: Taking Responsibility for Death

Image

 This article was a good eye opener to me, and hopefully anyone who read it as well. I think it’s really hard for some people to realize that death is inevitable, which is understandable because America still remains a death-denying culture. Especially for us young people, when faced with words like “living will” we seem to become skeptical, not because we don’t have any preferences but for the most part we like to put things off. I always think of writing a living will, and then in a split second I am like “no.. I’ll just wait!” What exactly am I waiting for? It’s because I, like others am reluctant on making end of life decisions, when I’d rather believe that my time is not near. However, this article just reiterated how important EOL’s are.

    In 2008, my mother had a brain aneurysm and needed brain surgery. My mother was not competent at the time and could not make the decision if she wanted the surgery and to live the rest of her life on medications or just simply let go. Luckily, my father is in the medical field, knew what decisions she wanted, and played the role of her patient advocate. My family and I were extremely lucky because when it came to decision making, it went really smooth instead of everyone being a war with each other. Susan Jacoby mother raised a good point, you don’t want family fighting at such an unfortunate time and ruin relationships. I think patients and patients’ families should have the role of making decisions ahead of time. Society has to face what is going to happen, I think there needs to be some type of regulation on EOL’s. I say this because things would be a lot clearer for future mixups between families and hospitals. I think a patient and the family members should always question healthcare providers. Someone’s health especially at the end of their run is not something to mess with. If anyone has questions they should always ask, let alone if a healthcare provider makes a decision not everyone is comfortable with.

 Image

Leave a Reply

