The Ugly Truth

I most definitely believe that they have a decision to make. This is their life and to leave it up to distraught loved ones and leave the bills to the government even though that may not have been their wishes is in every way irresponsible.  She talks about how Medicaid now has one third of their budget going towards end of life care and that simply is unacceptable especially since a large majority of those people would not be using that money had they had properly planned end of life care.  The responsibility that they have is to prepare for the end.  I know that that sounds so harsh, but even I know that I don’t want certain things and I’m 20 years old.  These things that need to be discussed are just basic questions of where they want to die, how, and should they try to resuscitate.  They could save a lot of money for people that don’t have enough money to buy themselves a fighting chance.  They, also, help you if you didn’t plan on dying.  You never know when your time is and I believe everyone has a way they would like to be treated at the end of their life(i.e. in the picture). My grandfather who recently passed updated his will and informed my mother (who was power of attorney) every year or any time he decided to change his mind about something.  Patient’s families have the responsibility to ask and be informed about these wishes as well as keep true to them.  I understand that your loved one may not want the same thing you want but guess what? Its not your life, its theirs and you should respect their decision.  Its exactly like when your son marries that awful girl you never liked, you can voice your opinion but in the end its still his choice and you shouldn’t break up the wedding because of it.  Yes, the patient has every right to ask more questions and challenge the provider.  Those are the types of things that keep doctors good and up to date with their treatment skills.  While in the hospital this past year, I was hooked up to a very strong antibiotic and I started to become really really itchy.  I told the nurse who didn’t believe me and I continued to bug her until she examined me a little more.  Turns out I had a reaction to the antibiotics and couldn’t be place on a dosage of them in  short time.  Had I not questioned her bad things could have happened.  

7 thoughts on “The Ugly Truth

  1. I really enjoyed how straight forward you were! It’s very true that every patient has that responsibility and/or wants for their end of life care. I am sorry to hear about your grandfather, however it was very bright of him to keep on changing his will. A lot of people don’t understand that when you write or consent to a living will it is not exactly set in stone and changes can be made. As for you points on questions healthcare when you were in the hospital, good job! A lot of the time people in the healthcare business are either stressed or in some kind of rush, and tend to skip out on things. Whenever I or a loved one is in some type of health institution I am always asking question on question until I get a clear cut answer.

  2. I too feel strongly about asking medical professionals many questions. I feel that the more things you ask, or say help to better you or the patient in need. People really should update their will like you mentioned above. That was very smart of your grandfather and i feel that people should really do this. People need to become more informed on living wills so that when it comes to end of life decisions, everything is already in place and time, money, and energy is not wasted on things that could have already been taken care of.

  3. I agree that family members should be informed of your decisions because although they are your decisions, I feel that there should be compromise to some extent or at least an explanation for those decisions to make everyone comfortable. After all, this isn’t exactly the best conversation in the world to have with someone you love. Thinking about changes that can be made or need to made to an advance directive every now and then is also a good idea that I never thought about. I also agree that one should ask lots of questions. When I was donating blood for the first time this week even, I asked a lot of questions just to make sure I knew what to do and asked what was happening when I started to pass out. Asking questions applies to so many situations and in the case of an end of life decision, that is when it really counts.

  4. I agree completely that this decision should be made only when the family is properly informed. Although the part where you discuss how it can save money is a bit insensitive, in reality it is a very significant point. Many family members would keep those alive and lose all their money to try and hold on to someone when they don’t even want to be kept alive. After all everyone wants to make the best decision for their family and not put others through a hard time.

  5. This was a very good piece. I agree with all your points. Patients do need to make their own decisions prior to them getting in life ending situations. If a person doesn’t have one in place then his or her family members are left with a lot of very stressful decisions and it will get very expensive. I agree with that the patient’s family has a lot responsibility as well. They should know exactly what each other wants so that if a situation did occur they know exactly how they should be treated. And you used a very good example to where a patient can question a doctor. Overall good blog.

  6. I totally agree with everything that you have stated. And each individual should make it a priority to have their EOL choices know. This makes it easier for their family member and loved ones that may have to deal with this unfortunate situation. It s important to ask all medical practitioners as much information as you may need in order to satisfy any doubts or uncertainty. Medical costs will get expensive and at a time like this they could tear families apart, especially when certain member are pushing to have everything possible done to the dying patient to keep them around longer. where as some may feel that it is important that they pass comfortably and quick as opposed to long and uncomfortable. Advance directives will not harm anyone and it may only take a couple of hours or even a few seatings at a lawyers office to write up but it will definitely benefit you and your loved ones.

  7. I completely agree with you on the fact that you said it is the patient’s responsibility to know what treatments they would and would not like and to make sure their family knows. Another option could be a living will. People just need to be straight forward with the topic and discuss the treatment options you would want and not want if anything were to ever happen, and you could not make your own decisions. Also, I agree with you when you say that the person can just go and tell the family if they change their mind about something. If people would just have an advance directive, it would make it so much less stressful on the family if something ever did happen.

Leave a Reply

