Fear of Family Death

Image

I’m choosing to discuss my fear of the death. I particularly have a fear of the death of my parents. It really makes me emotional thinking about not having my mom and dad there with me for the rest of my life. I don’t know why the feeling is so overwhelming, but it is. I’m really close to my parents and it’s hard for me to imagine a life without them. I value their advice and their opinions greatly and they are always there for me 110%, even when I’m not necessarily the nicest to them. Learning about how we as a society often put death off to the side, really got me thinking about death and what my life would be like if my parents weren’t there. Learning about grief and mourning has also made me think about how I would handle the death of my parents. I think I would indeed follow the 5 stages, especially the denial stage. Death will eventually happen to all of us and I think I will begin to value my relationships with people I care about more because you never know when those people can be taken from you. This class has made me dig deeper into my feelings about death and dying and I can now handle it in a better light. I realize now that we all will have experiences with death, some worse than others, but we have to be strong and continue to enjoy our life. The fear of death shouldn’t be a burden on our lives.

4 thoughts on “Fear of Family Death

  1. When I was reading your blog, I felt like I had written it my self. I have the same exact fear as you. It TERRIFIES me to live life with out my parents. Both of my parents are in there 50’s, and my dad always makes remarks like: “I only have a few years left in me sweetie,” I hate it when he says that! I believe that dealing with loss of my parents will be the biggest challenge I will have to face in my life, and I don’t think we are the only ones that feel this way. This class has also made me connect with my feelings about death and dying, not so much with myself, but for the people that I love most. It’s going to be tough when we lose are parents, but the point is to be prepared for it (meaning not to pretend like it wont happen), and not let the grief swallow us and take over our lives; our parents or loved ones wouldn’t want us to live that way. Like you said, we have to cherish and value the moments that we have with our loved ones now, because we never know when they will be taken from us.

  2. I wrote about similar sentiments in my blog post so I can relate to your struggle. Losing a family member can be incredibly devastating, and I feel that I would react in the same way that you would. Just as Jlucas stated, my parents also tell me they only have a few years left and it drives me crazy. When I take time to think about their impending death, however far off it may be, I tend to get upset. It almost seems like an hour glass where the each grain of sand that drops brings me closer to a life without my parents. All of this being said this Death and Dying course has shown me that my feelings are shared by most people and that there are ways to cope with such loss. I’ve learned to see death from many perspectives and for that I am very grateful.

  3. I wrote about similar sentiments in my blog post so I can relate to your struggle. Losing a family member can be incredibly devastating, and I feel that I would react in the same way that you would. Just as Jlucas stated, my parents also tell me they only have a few years left and it drives me crazy. When I take time to think about their impending death, however far off it may be, I tend to get upset. It almost seems like an hour glass where each grain of sand that drops brings me closer to a life without my parents. All of this being said this Death and Dying course has shown me that my feelings are shared by most people and that there are ways to cope with such loss. I’ve learned to see death from many perspectives and for that I am very grateful.

  4. I believe fear of family death is innate to anyone in general. A fear that we all have is getting that call that our close relative has past away. I know when the news of my fathers cardiac arrest had gotten to me I needed a moment to catch my breath. Events like these are always going to be marked with strong grief in distress, but with a strong support group anyone can make it through these struggles.

Leave a Reply

