Blog 4: Heaven

A-little-faith-will-bring-your

Though the semester is coming shortly to an end than expected, I really enjoyed this course. I learned so many different aspects of “death and dying”. Today was the last class of the semester and our last lecture concerned the beliefs of an afterlife. Is there life after death or are we just dirt in the ground, dust in the wind? Many people have different beliefs and theories; whether they rely on religion, science, tradition etc, beliefs vary. Personally, faith plays a major factor in my life. For that reason being said, discussing death or thinking about it doesn’t necessarily bother me. I guess I don’t have much anxiety about death. That is because I am a strong believer in God, Jesus Christ, and the Bible. I believe there is an afterlife in Heaven or Hell, and I pray that me and my loved ones make it to Heaven. Heaven is a place of rejoice, celebration, love, peace and most importantly rest. As heartbreaking as lost may be, I feel that God calls his children home on his own time. I strongly believe in having faith, even through the bad times, and realizing that everything happens for a reason and is going to work out for the best.

Death is inevitable. Lost in inevitable. You can’t defeat them and you will drive yourself crazy trying to avoid them. You have to live your life now and love it without regrets. Now I’m not saying go and put yourself in stupid/dangerous situations, but don’t be afraid to do what makes you happy. Heaven is forever, but life on earth is too short to just waste away. When we created our bucket list in class today, I put down some ridiculous things on my list. But of all the things I listed, what was most important to me was love, building a family, and keeping the one I have now together. My immediate family consist of my mom, dad, and two younger brothers. I know I would be devastated if I lost either one of them. It would take a lot of time for me to overcome the grief. But the one thing that would keep me going is FAITH. After lost, I know in my heart that I will see my loved ones again in Heaven, where we will live forever.

heaven-278107

4 thoughts on “Blog 4: Heaven

  1. I completely agree with you. After losing my father, faith is the only thing that has helped me through it. I know that when I die, I will see him again when I am in Heaven. I believe that God knows when it is a person’s time to go, and that we should not question it. It is really hard to not question when someone so close to you passes on, but it is for the best when you know they are in Heaven. I know that if everyone had faith in something, death would be a much easier topic to talk about. When you are sure of what you believe happens when you die, I think that death is much simpler. Faith is what keeps you from wondering about the unknown. Instead, you believe in things that others are not sure of. Death is a scary subject for those who are unsure of what happens when you die. I agree that while you are on Earth, you should live your life to the fullest. Do what you know is right, help others, and be happy. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

  2. Over the course of the semester in death and dying, we were told that faith and hope keep patients going from their terminal illness. Faith and hope are words that are not only encouraging but great beliefs in the bible. I am also a strong believer in the Lord and hold his values true to me. It was surprising to hear that as a death and dying course, the concept of faith and hope are very much attributed into the course of death. Death is inevitable and will eventually come in time. Having faith in our lives helps us grieve and live better through the grace of encouragement and love.

  3. I understand that everyone has their own beliefs and opinions, and I respect them. Personally, I think whatever helps make someone through a tough situation, or make him/her happy, then that’s a good thing. Personally, I don’t rely on the belief of an afterlife or a judgmental life to get through a tough situation. If I did, I think I would have more reason to blame God than to be thankful. But I noticed something interesting in in your post. You said: “you have to live your life now and love it without regrets”, but the thing is, a lot of people cannot do that because their lives, according to some, go against God and the bible. So how can they love it? I live life knowing that everything I do has consequences, whether good or bad, and whether those consequences are immediate or long term. I don’t believe in heaven nor hell, and I am pretty sure that my family that I love so much, I will only get to live just this life with them.

  4. I agree with you about faith. Faith can make a difference in how one views death. I’m surprised (in a good way) over the number of bloggers with some faith in God 🙂 At first, I didn’t think too much of death. After my situation when I was 17 (see blog 4), I was afraid to die. When I got to know God, I became less worried about dying and more focused on living. I had peace of mind. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have struggles in my life. Rather , I can overcome them because I can do all things through Jesus (Philippians 4:12-14).

Leave a Reply

