The Biological Catalyst

For this blog, we could choose anything our heart desires that was relayed in the class.  Well it’s really hard to think of something but then I remembered why: we are a death denying culture.  I think this is the one topic that made the most sense to me because I was able to understand the culture in which I live a lot more. I was able to understand new aspects of myself and things that I have experienced in the past few months.

In march of this year a lost my grandfather, and we were really close. After his death I felt like I went a little wild, going out and partying and isolating myself away from my family as if it didn’t happen and it helped. It made me feel a lot better about grieving, at least at the moment.  More recently I began to truly grieve for him and i almost feel like it was a lot worse than when my parents grieved.

Then in April, I found myself in the hospital, not for any party relating incidents, I just caught some rare super bug.  I was in and out of consciousness so I don’t really recall a lot except that it was a very hush hushed experience.  Now knowing what I know, about how seriously I’ll I was and how easily I could have died, I understand why it was talked about as if it was nothing, and how every time someone brings it up at the dinner table it’s brushed off as if it didn’t happen.

The world is death denying, it might happen to other people, other cultures, but never will it happen or almost happen to us.  And now I realize that, as humans we purposefully deny the existence of a death in order to make ourselves feel stronger and show that no change is needed in our life.  It is a common response due to evolutionary instances. As these are the two things that every human biologically have in common as a survival instinct.  So denying death is actually more of coping mechanism that we use in order to extend our lifetimes rather than a choice.  But only in the aspect of it actually happening to one, personally, that you find yourself death denying.

2 thoughts on “The Biological Catalyst

  1. I too lost a grandfather this semester, and can relate to how you felt. It was much easier to choose to distract myself rather than talk amongst family about it day after day. Next, I can relate to the instance where your family chose to hush your past sickness and how close to death you may or may not have been. As I’ve previously blogged, a family friend was diagnosed with cancer a while ago, and has been fighting it ever since. The problem is that it’s really hushed like the instance you mentioned, when I feel that talking about it would serve to help a little better than silence.

  2. It is going to be quite a long and difficult process to get rid of our death-denying abilities and accept the absolute reality of death with open arms. I’m sorry for your loss, and may your grandfather R.I.P.
    When people try to hush a situation, they try to swoosh and swat it away, pretend like it never happened – because at one point it almost did happen. That fact, rattles us human beings to the core. We like to have things in our control, and our longevity and our health and dying is something that we would like to exercise control on, but be never be able to fully have it in the grip of our hands. Hence – oblivion exists.

Leave a Reply

