Blog 4: Chapter 12 (Suicide) + Awareness

After taking this course, I have more knowledge about issues concerning death and how it affects our lives.  What stood out the most to me was the chapter on suicide.  The discussion on suicide was well-done, but I feel that though this is a difficult subject to discuss, we should bring more awareness to this subject.  For the sake of brevity, I will focus this blog on adolescent/adult suicide and awareness. I will also draw from my personal experiences. My goal for this blog is to educate others about suicide, take away some of the stigma whenever suicide is discussed, and to uplift people.  Due to the nature of the subject, I will do my best to be sensitive in how I discuss this topic.  I ask that you do the same with your comments.

Mature Topic about sucide

Mature Topic about suicide

Life is hard, especially when one is trying to find him or herself in this world.  It’s even harder when you’re stressed and you have a difficult time coping.  Everyone should be aware of a few of the warning signs for suicide : depression, anger, thinking about suicide, recklessness, and more.  High school and college students have a lot of pressure to succeed in school, at home, and in life.  That pressure to do well can overwhelm people, along with the negative feelings when they don’t succeed or feel worthy.  It is important for us to notice these signs and be brave enough to ask if one has the desire to commit suicide.  What I would like to emphasize the most is for people to be slow to listen and quick to help when someone shares what is hurting him or her.

Everyone can learn to be aware of suicide.

Everyone can learn to be aware of suicide.

I have had to deal with suicide in my own life- my own suicide attempt when I was 17.  I don’t want to be arrogant and say that my experience was the same as another person’s.  It is demeaning to the individual and I look ignorant.  I can say that the loneliness and despair I felt was painful.  When I was 17, I had a lot of events happening in my life.  I didn’t fit in my school’s cliques because I didn’t act the way I was expected.  I was bullied, occasionally because of my race (I am of Hispanic and African American heritage) and because I chose to have friends who looked at my character instead of my appearance and I did the same.  I did have family problems as well.  During an argument that my parents had between each other, I tried to stab myself with a knife.  My mother took the knife away from me before I harmed myself.  She held me, and I realized at that moment, how much she would miss me if I had succeeded.  The police came to our house and confiscated the knives.  I wasn’t baker-acted or hospitalized (as I wasn’t hurt, thank goodness) though.  In the short-term, I was glad that my mother intervened.  We talked somewhat about the problems I’ve had and how they bugged me.  It took until college for me to better understand what I was going through.  Through counseling, I discovered that I had depression.  I could communicate with my counselor, who was understanding and didn’t shame me for being depressed or getting help.  At around the same time, I found God.  It took me a while, but I learned how special and valuable I was but how everyone else is special, unique, and valuable too.  Today, I still have to manage my depression, but I’m doing better.  I have a wonderful niece, a fuzzy kitty, a loving girlfriend, and others who are supportive of me.

I know that not everyone has a happy ending, so to speak.  That’s why we have to be aware and open our hearts when we hear or learn about suicide.  Looking back, I wish I would have had the resources that I have now when I was in high school.   We can make a difference and save lives.

 

You can make a difference in a person's life!

You can make a difference in a person’s life!

7 thoughts on “Blog 4: Chapter 12 (Suicide) + Awareness

  1. It was very brave of you to talk about such a hard and complicated topic; especially when you’ve been in situations where you had contemplated to end your life. I admire you for being alive; life is a lot about fighting, and swimming through the ups and downs. For every extreme worse moment in our life, there is going to be an extremely, disgustingly happy one.
    I am away from family (they all live in Thailand), and I have been an avid traveller, but last year in college I got into a very serious relationship. Thought my boyfriend and I were crazy in love, we literally had crazy moments and in the end before summer started things stopped working out. I had never felt that way for a person before, so I tried to attempt suicide, but my roommates heard me through the wall telling this to my boyfriend, amidst tears on the phone about what I was about to do. They contacted my RA, and the housing assistants had me on suicide watch for a few days.
    I was advised to go to counselling, and fortunately for me, my parents weren’t informed.
    Even though there are moments, where I still despair and feel unworthy, and lonely- I’m glad I was rescued from taking my life. I think twice about my parents, my siblings, and when I look back I feel like I was literally a different person living someone’s else life. Today I’m much more stronger, at least I hope so.
    Keep strong! And once again, thank you for sharing! 🙂

  2. Wow, it sounds like you both went through an incredible journey. Thanks for sharing such profound stories.

    I have a friend who was suicidal, but I never knew what to say or do for him to .. get better? I didn’t want to give a cliche phrase and expect it to work and make things better for what he was going through, because I hated pity from others. So, I just let him talk about it and I asked him whether or not he went through counseling. After listening to his concerns, I was just a friend who talked back and understood. I think in those times, what people really need is to be heard, understood, and acknowledged. I, too, go through periods of suicidal thoughts, but I still wouldn’t know EXACTLY what to say to someone about it. The only thing I do know is that I will try to do something and not be the one person who chose to do nothing.

  3. I have to commend you on talking about such a hard topic to speak about. High school are the roughest years to get through. You’re going through so many changes with hormones, being in a different environment, meeting new friends, and coming across many mean and ignorant individuals. I believe school’s should be more aware of bullying. I believe there should be consequences if bullying does occur. What happened to you happens to others whether being black, white, gay,straight, wearing braces, wearing glasses, and the typical bullying of being heavier than their peers.

    I can’t say I was ever bullied because my brother was a year ahead of me in school and everyone knew to look out for me, so I guess I felt a sense of protection surrounding me. When I got into my Junior year of high school, my best friend at the time approached me with burn marks. I asked her how she got the burns and she said she experimented with salt and ice. Not really thinking, my response was “that’s so cool, I didn’t know that salt and ice could do that.” I went on my marry way to class and didn’t even think anymore than she was just “experimenting.” I soon learned that she would cut herself, and she attempted suicide. I immediately became concerned and learned how to help her.

    I think that was the hardest time in my life, dealing with a friend that just wanted to die. She’s healthy today, she’s living a beautiful life, but most importantly, she’s alive!

  4. It is very brave of you to talk about this subject; it actually reflects how strong of a person you are. Personally, I have never wanted to end my life or even had a friend go through something like this, but I can tell how difficult it can be to feel depressed or suicidal. Hey, sometimes I think about how much life sucks and wish it would all end, but I have also learned a few things being in college. The main thing that helps me cope with negative thoughts is realizing how much my family means to me. I came from a crazy and annoying family and just could not wait to get away from them. Then, in college, the love of my life left me; I was lost, hurt, and confused all in the very first few weeks of my freshman year. On top of that was the stress of school and finances. I figured out that if I was going to stay strong and deal with my depression, I was going to need someone to talk to. Like you said, I think that the most important thing about this topic is to raise awareness and talk about how to cope, especially with depression and feeling lost.

  5. Thank you for sharing that story, Honestly that is very brave and it is also important to spread awareness I think on the subject as you mentioned. I have had friends that have had depression and dealt with these types of stresses as well, and though I have never personally experienced them, I can only imagine how difficult it must be. Lending an ear to someone or standing up for them when bullied does make a difference. My little sister was bullied and she had friends that were bullied and I am so proud of her for standing up for one of her friends despite what was said about her later. The girl that was being bullied thanked her and they actually became friends. Little things can help someone feel better like this and it also goes without saying that the little things that are negative also build up as well. Teaching people or raising awareness on how to cope or solve a problem is important and I appreciate that you bring this topic up.

  6. I have the upmost respect for you for sharing such a story. I don’t know if I could have ever done that. I do somewhat (obviously not nearly as much as you do) understand what you went through. One of my best friends in my high school years attempted suicide when we were in our senior year. He had pretty similar problems that you had including the bullying and family issues. But suicide is something that we all do need to talk about more openly. I feel the fact that we all suppress it, regardless on whether we’re the one committing it or whether we’re the ones effected by it, really doesn’t help the cause.

  7. Such a difficult topic to discuss and you are braver then most to bring in your own accounts of your struggle. When I was going through my bouts of depression I felt an overwhelming feeling of loneliness. It is a terrible feeling to think know one can help or understand how you feel. I was always a happy person to everyone and felt if I told someone what was going on they wouldn’t want to hear my problems. It was miserable. However, if I can share one bit of knowledge its to share with those whats going on. Not all of them will be able to help but some people might just surprise you on how much you mean to them and even how some have been through similar experiences. You are never alone because there are billions of people on the earth and someone out there is going through the same thing you are. There is always someone who can help.

Leave a Reply

